I’m just a normal person eating in the real world.

The title today covers what I am trying to accomplish…eating clean in the real world. (and yes, I consider myself normal, LOL).  I’ve had a lot of recent discussion with people about what I eat and how I eat, and I love explaining clean eating, because it’s such a simplistic idea.

It’s not a “diet”, clean eating is sustainable.  It’s not like we’re cutting a group of foods out of our diet and adding them back in later, or substituting with artificial sweeteners and such.  Like The Atkins Diet, The South Beach Diet…what did all of those people think would happen when they added carbs back in to their diets?  Oh, and how unhealthy from eating all of that meat (ummm, bacon 4 times a day, anyone?) Geez.

It’s all about easy and simple foods…simple in terms of unprocessed and good for you foods! Food that come from the earth and not made in a manufacturing plant.  Talking about manufacturing plants, I can’t remember if I mentioned about the waffles?  My kids are huge on waffles.  I’ve been trying to make homemade on the weekends, (which you’ve seen) as well as pancakes…because they’re healthier, and uncontaminated.  Turns out, that the waffle plant in GA, had a listeria outbreak. Well, well, well! The listeria was found throughout the plant, it wasn’t just limited to one area of the facility, either. (Supposedly it’s been cleaned up since then.)  [source]

SO make your waffles and pancakes at home!  It doesn’t take long, and they’re better for the kiddos! 🙂 I made lots of suns this weekend:

since it was so dreary in Atlanta for the last 3 days!

I need to apologize for being MIA these last couple of days, but I just wasn’t feeling myself 😦  I made sure I am taking my vitamins and increased my water intake…made sure my meals were clean, so hopefully that will help).

At any rate, I have a lot of catching up to do!  Let’s start with breakfasts:


1 whole egg, 2 egg whites, two-tons of mushrooms and fresh oregano.  The next morning there was the return of The Panoli:

In case you’re new, let me explain what a panoli is.  It is a really, really thin pancake (almost like a crepe) and is stuffed with low-fat, low sodium cottage cheese that is mixed with either something spicy or something sweet.  Last time I made panoli’s, I stuffed them with cottage cheese and spicy salsa.  This time when I made them, I stuffed them with cottage cheese and Peach Polaner All-Fruit for a sweet morning meal:

So, so good!  Really worth trying.  My pancakes were made from this mix, which is clean and I love:

And the All-Fruit, which I have become a huge fan of recently, because there is nothing in it but fruit and fruit juice:

Then there were lunches, I started with these:

Added some of this:

and lots of these (which shrink waaay down when cooking):

with the end result looking like this and covered with 1/2 a slice of low fat havarti cheese, tomatoes and sprouted grain bread:

That turned out really good also! 🙂

On to dinners:  I went to the gym Wednesday night for BodyCombat and needed to make myself something when I got home (the rest of the family had already eaten) and came up with this:

Well, besides the sweet potato which eventually had cinnamon all over it, what is above that in the picture is a clean wrap, with chicken and havarti cheese inside, absolutely covered with sauteed peppers, onions and mushrooms and then kind of covered with Chipotle Tabasco Hot Sauce!  Unbelievably good!!!

Yep. That’s a lot of hot sauce, LOL! 😀

I was visiting with a friend when I dropped Aidan off for a sleep over and needed something to make that was clean (and quick!) and came up with this:

Roasted cauliflower with clean dressing, TJ’s chicken sausages, and whole wheat cous-cous with goat cheese, tomato, fresh oregano, and onion:

I love cous-cous.  Now I have some for the rest of the week, since no one else will eat it but me. YUM!

I didn’t get around to making the coconut butter, but did make a loaf of clean bread for the upcoming week in the bread machine (which turned out, YAY!)

There was also some clean popcorn from TJ’s…with olive oil and sea salt:

some more yogurt:

I put some raw cashews in it today, now that was good…a little extra crunchy-crunch!

And of course there as a picture of Sophia, because she had school pictures this week!

I almost forgot to add in my workout, I strength-trained legs!

  • hip abduction machine 130 lbs, 3 sets of 10
  • hip adduction machine 130 lbs, 3 sets of 10
  • machine leg curl 60 lbs, 3 sets of 10
  • machine leg extension 50 lbs, 3 sets of 12
  • machine leg press 200 lbs, 3 sets of 12

I did a little bit of abs, but they were shredded from this week.  I couldn’t do a reverse crunch for anything, so I did 20 and some normal crunches and called it a day.  Tomorrow is chest, shoulders and triceps.  Can’t wait!!

Have a great Monday morning!

Jessica xoxo

5 Responses to I’m just a normal person eating in the real world.

  1. april says:

    How exactly do you make those pancakes so thin?? I always try crepes and they never work out!

    Your daughter is just darling!! She looks so happy 🙂

    • LOL! I have a small non-stick fry pan, that I spray liberally with non-stick spray, then I put some batter in and move the pan around till the bottom is covered and then cook it! It takes me a couple of tries before they actually turn out! 😉

  2. lauren eliza m says:

    I hope you feel better!! Now your meals look yummy! I eat pretty similar, I just got egg beaters- since I am in college its a lot quicker!

    I made really, really, really yummy fish tacos the other night and I am pretty sure they would be considered clean! They were soo delicious 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    A sun pancake?!?! I must make one!

Leave a Reply

