hmmmm. Maybe it’s spring fever!

I guess I’m going to start this entry by saying that I think I’ve been in a funk.  Not sure why… I just feel like I’m going through my daily routines but there’s not much, I don’t know, excitement? Maybe excitement isn’t the right word.  I just feel kind of blah all of the time.  There are periods of un-blah-ness, like when I’m at the gym taking class, or running.  So I’m not completely blah! Maybe it’s just spring fever?  That’s probably it. 😉

It helped today that the temperature in the Atlanta area hit 71 degrees.  It was fantastic, the sun was out, I took Biscuit for a walk, sat out on the deck…and prepared myself for the next five days of rain...:(

Biscuit training.

Breakfast this morning consisted of my usual standby on Tuesday BodyAttack class days…protein oatmeal.  Bob Marley oats this morning, with lots to sustain me through an entire class. 😀  Oatmeal, vanilla protein powder, pineapple, coconut, raw cashews.  It was so good.  I hadn’t had it in a while!  I opted to not put any natural sugars in it this morning, and I’ll tell you why in a bit… (and the recipe for the original is under the recipe tab)…

Yesterday I was thinking about going for another run but I had some inflammation issues where the bursitis is in my left hip from the run the day before, so I decided that it would be better if I didn’t run again today.  Wow, I just made myself feel old. (The bursitis was caused by a hip stress fracture I had months ago.)  Plus, sometimes what happens is that if I exercise the day before my classes, I can’t give 100% during class.  I hate when I can’t give 100% in my workout, because what’s the point then?

I really, really wish I had my heart rate monitor back.  I use it as a sort of guide, I can tell how hard I need to push myself if I glance at my heart rate every once in a while  (wanting to throw up means I’m doing fine, LOL).  Anyone out there who’s a “cardio junky” like myself knows what I’m talking about, for sure :D)

So instead I went grocery shopping at Walmart.   After I got home from Walmart I was hungry so I ate another Luna bar (and I must say, I think I’m going to stop eating them….that started a whole sugar craving that lasted the rest of the day).  Then I decided that I needed tuna fish:

That is tuna fish, in a little bit of Wegmans Santa Fe Marinade, with a slice of mozzarella cheese on homemade french bread.  It was really good!  Thing was, about an hour later, I was hungry again, and wanted more spice:

That mess on a plate is cottage cheese with the salsa that Jeremy got for me some time ago:

Yummy, and all completely clean.  I had cut up a bunch of peppers which seem to be my go-to vegetable for this week.

Please don’t be surprised if you see them in everything I cook this week, LOL!

Since I wasn’t headed to the gym tonight I made dinner…two dinners, because I didn’t want to eat what everyone else was having, a common occurrence.  Sophia was in the kitchen with me and since I always have my camera handy to take pictures of food I told her to take some pictures.  It occupied her for a couple of minutes, so maybe we have a future photographer in the house? LMAO!

Future photographer? Or maybe not 😉

She did manage to catch me cooking:

No, I’m not stepping on Biscuit.  Biscuit loves to sit there when I cook. 🙂

And Sophia even took a picture of what I was cooking:

That was Macaroni Grill boxed chicken alfredo or something similar (not sure what the exact name is).  That wasn’t my dinner (oh, and it goes over pasta).

This was my dinner:


Grilled chicken, broiled cauliflower with garlic salt and real parmesan cheese, and homemade bread with a little butter toasted.  It was fantastic. Bread x2.

So I have a confession, which is about sugar…it started with the Luna bar and morphed into a brownie and several Oreo-like cookies…all unclean and full of yuck 😦  and I’m wondering if the sugar isn’t causing my ho-hum mood, or vice versa (my ho-hum mood causing the cravings) at any rate, tomorrow will have no sugar! No Luna bars, for sure.  One thing I do know is I’m looking forward to working out tomorrow.  I hate “off-days”.

My fave class above pic 😀 😀

Hope you all have a fantastic Tuesday!  I can’t wait!

Jessica xoxo

7 Responses to hmmmm. Maybe it’s spring fever!

  1. RC says:

    Jessica,
    Can you give me a more detailed description of how you do your Broiled Cauliflower? Also your Oven Baked Chicken (that looks like fried chicken). I have some cauliflower I need to do something with tonight and chicken as well!! Thanks and keep writing!
    RC

    • Hey RC! The broiled cauliflower is super easy…I took a bag of frozen cauliflower, baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes with garlic salt, parsley and I put real parmesan on it after…your broil time may be different because I have a convection oven. The baked chicken recipe is the following: 6 chicken breasts, then mix 4 egg whites, 1 tsp. garlic powder, and salt and pepper to taste. The breading was 1 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (you can use any kind) with 1 tsp. garlic powder. An add in to that is 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (I actually forgot to add it in when I cooked them but it tastes really good with it). Spray the bottom of a baking dish and baked uncovered at 375 for 45 minutes (give or take, it depends on how thick the chicken is!)

      Hope this helps 🙂

  2. RC says:

    Thanks so much! You should think about creating a section of your meal recipes with more detail like you just gave me!

  3. april says:

    Even though I’m not a total cardio junkie, I know what you mean about the HR monitor! During my HIIT I try to get that bad boy as high as it’ll go. LOL!!

    Don’t worry- everyone has off days! I’m the same way though- one taste and you want more!

    P.S. Cute jeans!!

  4. kbwood says:

    i MUST try that cauliflower! love yo colorful eats too!

Leave a Reply

