POM Juice Review and new recipes Sunday!

Good Morning y’all! Hope you are having a marvelous Sunday.  For those of you that follow Fit and Clean on Facebook, you already know this news, but for those of you that don’t, I received free samples of POM 100% Pomegranate Juice in the mail this week, and was so excited to try it, because I recently became a fan of pomegranates over Christmas.  Remember this picture?

Those are pomegranate arils (the inside that you scrape out and eat).  I loved them!  When POM contacted me and wanted to know if I wanted some samples I didn’t think twice about it, because I’d never tried the juice before!

The juice arrived in the mail a few days ago:

inside were some of these:

and of course, I had to take a picture of me with one, LOL! It is, after all, my first samples!

I liked the juice, personally.  It’s not overly sweet like apple juice or grape juice.  It’s sweet-tart.  It tastes just like pomegranates, which it is 100% pomegranate juice.  If you like pomegranates, you’ll like the juice, and if you’ve never had pomegranates, I urge you to try the juice. Other facts about POM juice: (included in literature sent to me along with the juice)

  • 100% made in the USA
  • more potent antioxidants then red wine, grape juice, blueberry juice, cranberry juice, green tea, vitamin C and vitamin E

I do believe that the juice will make really great pomegranate margaritas. Recipe to come soon! 😀

This morning for breakfast I wasn’t as hungry as usual (I suspect because I did some snacking last night…helllo cookies! ) Those weren’t good for me. Well, moving on…

Breakfast:

One egg, 3 egg whites, real parmesan cheese, half a blueberry bagel with blueberry all fruit. Oh, and Tabasco Chipotle hot sauce.  If you like hot sauce, that one is fantastic. I recommend it!  It has a bit of sugar, but how much are you going to use?  Probably not a ton.

I hard-boiled some eggs…I buy a lot at once, so I don’t have to keep going back to the grocery store…

I don’t know how fresh they are, but I get them at WalMart for about $2.25.  A good deal for an ideal protein source.

I had a salad with leftover roasted turkey for lunch:

It wasn’t very creative, I’m afraid.  Salad, turkey, green peppers and Annie’s Goddess Dressing.  This is what happens when you cook a 22 pound turkey.  You eat it for a week!!!

Dinner was homemade turkey soup (it turned out really well!)  and homemade mutli-grain bread.

Of course, I have to show a close-up of the soup, because as y’all know, sometimes things turn out, and sometimes they don’t…and this time it did! 🙂

Ingredients: turkey, celery, carrots, onion, egg noodles, thyme, rosemary, sage, salt and pepper.  Doesn’t get any cleaner than that!

Before I forget, before and after pictures of the bread:

before.

and

after.

I decided I was also going to make some sort of chocolate dessert concoction.  I made raw orange chocolate brownies. Mostly Averie’s recipe, but with a twist of my own!

Into the food processor went regular dates from Whole Foods, walnuts, dark agave, dark cocoa powder, vanilla, and pure orange oil:

Granted, my food processor doesn’t make things as smooth as a Vitamix would, but it does an ok job…

I put it in a dish to put in the freezer and made a “frosting” which consisted of organic Whole Foods chocolate chips.  It ended up looking scrumptious!

I will let you know how they taste.  They tasted really good on the spoon last night! 😉

Cheers,

Jessica xoxo

4 Responses to POM Juice Review and new recipes Sunday!

  1. You should totally make POM margaritas! My favorite 😉 😉

    LOOOOVE homemade chic noodle soup…mmmm

    xoxox, Lauren

  2. kbwood says:

    hahah sooo much turkey!
    GAH i bet that noodle soup is sooo good! ive NEVER had it home made-only at panera and chickfila! haha

  3. april says:

    Thanks for the hot sauce tip- except only problem is I use a ton of it!! LOL

    And yay for lifting! Let me know how it goes! What’s your plan for this week?

    • I’m going back to my push/pull routines…I think I’m going to start with 2 days this week that aren’t Tuesday or Thursday (my fave cardio class days). Then if I’m not too sore, I’ll add in the third day, and I also need a day or two to run. We shall see! Everything could change as the week progresses! 😉 I’ll be sure to post what I’m doing for lifting though!

Leave a Reply

