Cooking and stuff :)

Happy Hump Day!  Honestly, though, today seemed like the longest day ever.  I was up last night from 4-5:20 which really cuts into my sleep time!  I woke up this morning and was actually organized enough to drop Sophia off at school and hit the gym right away (a plus) and really tried to give it my all during class.

I only burned 340 calories at 22% fat in 43:04.   This was BodyAttack, too! The same class where I burned484 calories @ 24% fat in 1:01:25 on Tuesday.  Hmmm.  It is possible that I’m not burning as much because I’ve gotten more fit.  I think I’ll have to see what I burn in BodyStep tomorrow and go from there!  A switch up of some sort might be in order!  I’m not sure if I’m adding the resistance training back in yet, because I’m not sure about the running yet…meaning, how much I want to run.  I plan on figuring it out soon. 😉

It would probably help if I got more then 5 hours of sleep on average every night too. This is by no fault of my own.  Rest is so important for your body.  Your muscles grow and repair themselves when you rest. If you do not rest, and the muscles have not recovered, you can impede the growth process.  Listen to your body!

In other news, today was a huge cooking day for me!  I made several new recipes, including homemade hummus, Averie’s peanut sauce, and a huge 22 pound turkey with mashed potatoes for dinner.

Let’s start with the peanut sauce, since it’s the first thing that I made: (you can find the recipe here.)

Peanut butter, orange juice, maple syrup, agave, sesame oil, ground ginger.  Yummmmmmy!

All I had was chunky natural peanut butter, thus the little chunks. 🙂

Then I decided to try my hand at some homemade hummus.  After looking at 1000 different recipes I decided to wing it:

Fluffy hummus. YAY!!

Did you know that when you make hummus, that it isn’t actually made with olive oil?  It’s made with water…that’s what makes it fluffy!  There’s an exact science to this stuff, people, so pay attention!

Ingredients in my homemade hummus:

  • 1 bag of dried, then cooked chick peas
  • smoked paprika
  • garlic
  • lemon juice
  • sea salt
  • tahini

and the final ingredient, which gave it so much flavor and was also a suggestion of Averie on her blog:

  • Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle!

It was really missing something until I added that.  Thanks, Averie! 🙂  I suppose you could use any flavor and it would turn out fantastic.

I would also like to add that I tried to Google Clean Eating Hummus.  What I brought up were all sorts of recipes with canned chick peas…which contain a preservative (I can’t recall which one at the moment) and a ton of sodium that no one needs.  So those recipes would not be clean. Rest assured that my recipe is!!!

Oh, and 1 bag of chickpeas makes about 100 pounds of hummus.  Seriously.  Look at all the hummus:

Homemade Hummus. 100 pounds worth!

Let me know if you want to try some. 😉

As per our agreement Jeremy put the turkey in the oven while I went out for coffee with a friend (and was nice enough to take a “before” picture for me):

22 pounder!

This big bird went into the oven from 12-5:30.  When we took it out it was finally done:

Turkey!

We didn’t bother to brown it.  We did make lots of gravy and mashed potatoes to go with it:

I don’t eat the skin anyway, so I left it up to Jeremy if he wanted to brown it or not.

It was all clean, and all good.  LOVED it!  Exactly what I needed today!  Right now the carcass is turning into clean turkey stock.  I can’t wait to make some homemade soup (maybe tomorrow!)  We probably have 15 pounds of turkey left! 😀

You can follow me on Facebook, too!

7 Responses to Cooking and stuff :)

  1. Wow, congrats on the new recipes! They both look great! My mouth is watering at the sight of that gigantic bowl of hummus 🙂

    How do you measure calories in those classes?

    Have a great night. xoxox

  2. april says:

    You were busy! I always make homemade hummus.. it’s lower in calories and much more clean too!

  3. kbwood says:

    i love your blog!! home made hummus sounds AWESOME! i really need to try that recipe!

  4. Robin says:

    Wow – I would not have thought chick peas to have preservatives. Thanks for the awesome tip – I am just starting out in my own Clean Eating quest and will check out your blogs often!

Leave a Reply

