it was a brownie-bites kind of day

Today was Aidan’s actual birthday.  He turned 10!  It doesn’t mean that he acts 10 all of the time, though! Ugh.  The trials and tribulations of children.  Today was his second party (with just us) and I made mini-cupcake bites for him in lieu of cake (because he’s going to have a sleepover and he will get his big cake then):

Happy Birthday, Aidan! I love you!  Of course I took a picture of the brownie bites:

This morning I was headed to the gym for my fave class, BodyAttack.  I even dreamed about class, all night long.  No, not obsessed, LOL.  I busted it out in class, and burned 538 calories at 17% fat in 58:14.  I LOVE that class!!! If you have a chance, I recommend it for a couple of reasons…it will get you into shape in short order, and if you already feel that you are in shape, it will raise your fitness level.

I knew that I was going to class and because it’s February break I also knew that I would have all the kids with me en route to the gym (they go into the daycare…they love it) so after feeding everyone I finally got to eat something myself and guzzle some coffee along with it:

Half an Einstein Bros. blueberry bagel that I picked up yesterday with blueberry jam.  I also had 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites.  Half of the bagel is 150 calories. (I looked it up on their web site).  If I had eaten the whole thing it would have been 300 calories! Holy cow! Good thing I suspected. 🙂  They’re huge!

After I got home I was starving and I’m pretty certain that I burned through that bagel and the eggs in the first 15 minutes of class.  I ate the wheat berry salad I made the other day with half of a honey wheat bagel:

wheat berry salad

I put some of this dressing on the salad:

and didn’t put anything on the bagel.  It didn’t need it!

I got hungry again and ate the last Think Thin Bar that I had bought when traveling.  Those things are so inedible!  Sometimes I eat more for fuel then flavor, and I knew I needed more protein:

I decided that Sophia and I needed to get our nails done (in my case, I got them taken off…) so we went to do that and to the grocery store for the odds and ends that I’ve forgotten the last 2 days.  I had to make sure I had enough time to make dinner, and I did and it was clean and yummy!  I started out with a roast:

caramelized some onions and added celery:

added some diced tomatoes and the coup de grace:

coup de grace

Target carries this amazing line of spices in with the regular spices.  There’s nothing but spices…no preservatives or anything bad in it.  On the back of the package it tells you how much meat and what is needed and cooking directions.  Even I can’t mess that up:

Goulash

I had mine with brown rice and green beans:

The rest of the family ate them with No Yolks noodles.  So good!

That’s all I have for you today!  Hope you enjoyed the post.  Tomorrow I have another 7 mile run.  Hoping I can actually finish it!  Have a wonderful night! 🙂

Jessica xoxo

3 Responses to it was a brownie-bites kind of day

  1. Kristin says:

    Happy irthday Aidan 🙂

    And good luck on your 7 mile run!

  2. april says:

    Happy birthday to Aidan!!

  3. Happy birthday to your young man!

    The roast looks delish!!!! And good luck on the run! 🙂

Leave a Reply

