back in the saddle…

I have a confession, I only ran 4.5 out of the 7 miles I was supposed to run.  I just wasn’t feeling it, and I over-dressed and was actually HOT!  It was 50 degrees out today.  I think I did a good job though, because I increased my time:

Not bad. That’s with all of the hills in my subdivision, too! It’s fairly hilly.

I had a light lunch before I went out to run:

I need to start using smaller plates.  It looks like there’s hardly any food on it!  I assure you there was.  It is Mary’s Gone Crackers, Sabra Hummus, and yellow peppers.

After my run I ate a Larabar:

It looked like this one but had green packaging. It was Key Lime Pie.  Interesting flavor, it wasn’t terrible!  Edible.  Not fantastic.

Since today was Valentines Day, Jeremy had stopped at the butcher and brought us home some monster Delmonico Steaks.  I love steak!!! I think we have it every year for Valentine’s Day.  We don’t bother going out, because we’d have to hire a sitter and then deal with huge crowds.  Jeremy grills better then any restaurant, anyway!!

Now THAT'S a steak!!

Now the sides are what are interesting.  I had a side of Pasta Roni (yes, I’m aware that it’s not clean, but I love Pasta Roni – I don’t eat if often) and I wanted to partially imitate that squash side from Wegmans in Rochester, NY.  Theirs looked like this:

Wegmans

and was made with red onion, spinach and Craisins.  Mine looked like this:

Mine

and was made with basil, Craisins, and caramelized yellow onion (the onion wasn’t on it yet when I took the picture).  I liked mine better…spinach doesn’t really taste like anything, but the basil added a lot of flavor.  Also, the red onion in theirs was too chunky, it really needed to be smaller/thinner pieces.  So overall, I was very happy with my recipe!!

Oh and there was a glass of this:

I also, for the record, ate 2 pieces of mozzarella cheese,  some chocolate and a small piece of the cookie cake from yesterday.  I don’t know what’s up with the cheese and the chocolate lately. I could seriously live on them for every meal!  I need to get my head back into it, and cut the sugar back out.  Sugar does nothing for my body and has absolutely no nutritional value.  Tomorrow, I pledge to remove all of the sugar from my diet again.  2 days in a row is too much!

See you tomorrow! 🙂

Jessica xoxo

3 Responses to back in the saddle…

  1. yours loooks sooo much better than wegmans!
    and amen about older = know it all status. and yes, people love to argue. they think it’s sport. it’s like, go, get a life please. LOL
    sugar. i love it. seriously, i need sugar or i have no energy. some people love fat, i love sugar 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    I am the same way with crowds. No thanks. Id rather stay home with my valentine 🙂

    The steak looks awesome 🙂

  3. Congrats on the run! Don’t worry if it wasn’t what you set out to do. Its the rough runs that make the great ones, really great.

    xx

    Lauren

Leave a Reply

