The 6 miler and a *Short* Bar Review

Good Evening friendlies 🙂

I am excited because I got my long run in this week (on the last day of the week, LOL).  I drove over to the recreation center about a mile from my parents house, paid more there than if I went to a national gym chain ($11.25!!) and ran on a treadmill for 6 miles.  I am all caught up and right where I need to be in the training for the 1/2 marathon. I also did some back exercises and biceps.  The following are the exercises I did:

Hammer Curls 12.5lbs. 3 sets of 8

21’s –12lbs 30 reps

Open ups 12.5lbs 30 reps

Machine pull down 55lbs 3 sets of 12

Machine Rear Deltoid Row 35 lbs. 3 sets of 12

I knew I wanted to run today so I made pancakes for me and my Dad at breakfast:

That is a picture of my pancake.  It has Oikos yogurt on top (mixed with stevia), real maple syrup and granola.  It was so good!!
When I came back from my workout (I was gone maybe 1.5 hours and a mile down the road) I was starving.  Absolutely ravenous. Running takes a lot out of you, physically.  I’m actually kind of tired of salad (imagine that, LOL!) so I had to get creative:

That is the “COCO POP” that I bought last week. On it was tuna fish, orange pepper, feta cheese and balsamic vinegar.  I ate 2!  And just so we’re clear, that means I ate a whole can of tuna fish, at 140 calories total.  Add 32 calories for the coco pops, 80 for the feta and 10 for the balsamic, the grand total is approximately 262 calories.  Then some veggies, maybe 50 or so? The whole meal, just over 300 calories.  Fantastic and nutritious and flavorful!!

I ate another Lemon Zest Luna Bar (love LUNA 🙂 ):

Yes, another picture of a bar on the leg. Sorry!

I needed to make another trip to the grocery store  (not an unusual thing, even at home, although I try to limit the trips there) and picked up my *special items* to ship home…items the grocery stores don’t sell in GA.  For example, Chiavetta’s BBQ Marinade, Wegman’s Santa Fe Marinade, some things for the kids, some things for Jeremy, etc. etc.) 😉

I also picked up some new bars.  I will find a bar that I like that doesn’t have a ton of sugar, is greasy, or is lacking in flavor.  Kind of like this bar:

Think Thin. I THINK NOT!!

I love the concept of protein and no sugar.  Unfortunately, when I looked closer at the ingredients, I found that it has maltitol in it (a sweetener, not natural), chocolate liquor, (what the heck??),  and tricalcium phosphate, (which I believe is used in production of phosphoric acid an fertilizers [source]. YUCK. Not clean. You have endured the last review of the Think Thin bar. 😉

Dinner was leftovers:

Ravioli and Broccoli

Could I get some more sauce, please??   Hahaha! 😀

Saucy!

There are only 4 cheese ravioli hanging out under all of that sauce.  All natural and clean.

After dinner, I had to do some mundane chores (laundry) and baking.  I wanted to bake some cookies to take to the nurses at the Pluta Cancer Center tomorrow.  They are all the sweetest ladies!  Since I’m not home and I wasn’t really in a complete baking mood I bought these, which I have bought many times in the past:

Preservative free cookies.  They are not sugar free (now let’s not get crazy!)  but they are clean of yucky stuff:

LOVE these cookies.  They are really good for break and bake! 🙂  I made 24 to take in with me tomorrow, and 12 for the family if we want something sweet.

Have a wonderful night and great Monday morning!  See you tomorrow evening!

Jessica xoxo

4 Responses to The 6 miler and a *Short* Bar Review

  1. Congrats on the 6-miler!!! I missed mine due to snow so I’m squeezing it in before work tomorrow 🙂

    Oh, and those bars look delish! Hopefully I can find them around here!

  2. april says:

    Wow that lunch does sound awesome! 300 calories and protein packed!

    What are Open Ups?? I love finding new moves!

    • I don’t know if that’s what they’re actually called, LOL but I will find out and get back to you 🙂 Basically, it is holding dumbells so that they are vertical in front of you, close to the body, and keeping your elbows touching your sides, moving your arms out to the side and back in for one rep. I’ll let you know if there’s a more technical name! It really works the deltoid and bicep muscles at the same time.

  3. Thank you for saying you thought the Think Thin was gross. I tried the white choc one with choc center and thought it was horrible. I mean, awful. Other bloggers seem to think they’re fine, or even “great”. If they think that’s great, their head will explode if they ever taste one of my homemade creations 🙂

Leave a Reply

