Let’s Try This Again…

Good Morning my bloggie friends! It has finally stopped snowing but it is C.O.L.D. Holy cow! It was one degree when I woke up. Now it’s 6 degrees! 😉  I am so not used to the cold weather.  I plan on running today, but I need to pick up some trail shoes..my sneakers slide all over the place on the ice and snow and sometimes I have two left feet anyway. So not a good thing!  Here’s a picture of the snow, mostly for my friends in the ATL:

That’s a picture of my parents backyard. 🙂

Let’s start with yesterday’s breaky.  Mine was yummy!  I’ve gotten away from eating so many carbs in the morning and kind of limiting if I don’t work out that day.  Yesterday I had a fantastic bowl of oatmeal:

Plain old oatmeal, pineapple, blueberries, granola, and oikos yogurt.  Creamy, yummy, and warm.  I ate the rest of the yogurt in the container to get some protein in (actually, a perfect amount…15 grams).

Fact: The body can only absorb between 15 and 20 grams of protein per meal.  Anything above and beyond gets stored by the body ( like fat does) and needs to be burned off.  Some web sites will put that a little higher (around 30 grams) but personally I like to keep it around 20.

The yogurt:

I have a confession, I had to put some Stevia in it to eat it plain.

Lunch was later in the day.  I really wanted a salad like the kind I make at home. So be it:

Lettuce, baby bella mushrooms, orange peppers, Mary’s Gone Crackers, chicken breast seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning.  All covered with Annie’s Goddess Dressing.  It was so good!

I ate before I started my errands, I had a lot of running around to do…the mall, BJ’s, Tops grocery store, etc., etc.  I brought a new bar with me in case I needed a boost.  A friend of mine on a different board that I belong to told me about these Think Thin bars.  Lots of protein, no sugar, low in fat.

Are you tired of seeing pictures of granola bars on my leg yet? At least my jeans were clean 😉  It was ok.  It seemed to be missing something, not sure what…sugar? LOL!  My faves so far are the Cliff Nectar Bars, but I don’t remember without revisiting previous posts how much protein is in them.  And apparently the company is getting rid of Cliff Nectar, and replaced them with Cliff C Bars.  They actually look really good, they have a nut crust bottom, topped with fruit and almonds.  Sounds really good to me!

I had made dinner ahead of time and had it simmering on the stove.  I made homemade adobo pork, because it’s easy and my parents like it.  It doesn’t have a lot of ingredients, but there is sugar in it, so not completely clean.  It turned out fairly well:

I only had a little bit of the pork and ate a ton of veggies with it.  My parents ate their with the traditional yellow rice.  Loved the veggies, they had good flavor. Carrots, broccoli, lima beans, peppers, zucchini.

Again, I was hungry again a bit later and still giving that SunButter a chance.  It’s not that it’s inedible, I guess I’ve been spoiled with my favorite cashew butter 🙂 I made a banana boat.  See how easy it is? You can make one 1300 miles away from your home!

This one is a banana, golden raisins, raw cashews, raw cacao nibs, and SunButter.  It was really good.  Even with the SunButter, but I hid the taste a bit with the toppings 😉

I am heading outside (I think it’s 9 degrees now?) to run in the snow.  I got me some cheapy trail shoes in the Men’s part of the shoe department in Target…I think they were $39.99.  Then I bought some athletic insoles to put in them, because they didn’t have any sort of cushion. New trail shoes total = $49.99.  Not falling on my bottom in the snow = priceless! LOL.

I intend on bringing my camera and taking snow covered pictures for my family in the ATL.  I miss everyone! So here are some family pictures I want to share:

June 26, 2009 Family vacay in Pensacola!

My Seany and Bisquit

Aidan and Sophia

Have a Blessed Day!

Jessica xoxo

3 Responses to Let’s Try This Again…

  1. april says:

    I kind of like those think thin bars… they are kind of strange but slightly addicting! haha.

    And man that dessert looks yummy! I’ve got my mom hooked on bananas and peanut butter.. I’ll have to tell her about all those yummy toppings she could use!

  2. Nancy says:

    YUM that banana looks great!

Leave a Reply

