Eating in the “Real World”

Good Evening, my friends 🙂  I have been super busy helping Mom and Dad, so sorry that the blog is up so late in the day.  I called today “Eating in the Real World” because, well, that’s what’s going on here.  I don’t have the comfort and security of my own home and the foods I carefully purchase at my Publix or Whole Foods.  I am in Rochester, NY and there is a fantastic grocery store called Wegmans…you can get anything your heart desires there including health foods. (But it’s still not the same as being home).

I have a lot of foods to show you from the last two days.  Please remember that I am not home and that there are going to be important choices made, and yes, I choose to eat dessert sometimes 😉

Let’s start with breakfast this morning:

MMMmmm-MMMmmmm!!!

What you are looking at is 3 egg whites, 1 whole egg and rye bread that is free of preservatives. I’ve actually had that breakfast 2 days in a row now!

I also made my Dad some breakfast, also clean:

3 whole eggs with fresh mushrooms and herbs de Provence, rye bread.  He said he liked it a lot 🙂

I went to the Pluta Cancer Center with Mom for her treatments today and it was an all day event.  I brought a Luna Bar to snack on after breakfast and before lunch:

These bars have evaporated cane juice, so not completely clean.  However, the lemon zest bar has 9 grams of protein.  It also had a nice, lemony taste, and I was pleasantly surprised.  I am looking to add protein into my diet, so I’ll take it where I can get it while I am at my parents house!

Lunch was served at the Center, and I believe that it is catered and brought in.  It was actually fantastic, not bland at all and had tons of flavor! Again, pleasantly surprised!  I started with a Southwest Chicken Soup:

Fantastic!

It was so good.  Lot’s of chicken, some beans, corn, tomatoes, and flavor! Next I had a small salad with just a sprinkling of Italian dressing, as I didn’t want to eat it plain (uh, yuck!)

This salad was freshly made, you could tell. Crisp! Very good.  I want to mention, all of the food is clean, maybe with the exception of the Italian dressing.  The other option was ranch.

Next I ate a turkey on wheat bread sandwich.  I want to mention, also, that the turkey is real turkey breast, not deli meat. 😉

That’s not a great picture…maybe I’ll get a better one later in the week, because Mom needs to go 3 times a week for Leukemia treatments.

Dinner was from Wegmans.  They have these wonderful, fresh, six-dollar meals.  I chose a chicken breast, butternut squash with spinach and dried cranberries, and roasted brussel sprouts.  All done up in olive oil, and completely healthy, cheap and easy:

I loved the squash and want to make that at home. Yummy!  Yesterday’s dinner was clean but I cooked (I didn’t want everyone to think I was only eating out:

Spareribs, sweet potato with cinnamon, and corn. Not a thing bad about that 😉

Yesterday my Dad wanted me to share a small piece of cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory (I’ve never been!!) with him and he slathered real whipped cream all over it:

oh, yeah!!!

It was chocolate and vanilla (I think).  A very small treat for me.  They make all of their cheesecakes, so there’s not any preservatives.  Even though it’s not clean, I enjoyed having the treat with my Dad. 😀

That is all I have for you, but I’ve been super busy, both here in Rochester with my parents and dealing with some things at home also.

Thank you all for visiting my blog!  I will probably be doing the blogging at night mostly, so expect there to be updates in the morning!  My care package that I sent myself came from home today so expect some great oatmeal recipes to come 😉 Also, I haven’t had time to work out, but am planning on a 5 miler tomorrow!

Have a great night and please keep my parents in your thoughts as they go through this rough time.

Jessica xoxo

5 Responses to Eating in the “Real World”

  1. Nancy says:

    All the best to your parents – and you! Good eats!!!

  2. april says:

    I hope everything works out with your family! your in my thoughts!

    And man your doing good with clean eating away from home! That’s always no fun when your away from home and have limited food choices.. but your doing awesome! What brand of bread is that?

  3. I LOOOOOOVE the Cheesecake factory! I’m obsessed with their lettuce wraps, chicken madera, and well pretty much everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

