“3 Miler” Sunday and Quinoa pasta review

Good Morning Sunshines! How are y’all today?  Before I even get started, Averie told me that the link didn’t work to her blog for the yummy, clean, (vegan!) treats.  So I re-linked it, but in case ya’ll couldn’t find her, the web site is http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com.  😉

The weather is gloomy out today. I was contemplating running my 3 miles outside, but ick. (Yes, that’s the technical term).  So I’m going to head to the gym, run my miles, work on my legs and try to get those leg muscles built back up.

This morning I didn’t feel like oatmeal, or eggs, and just didn’t know what I wanted. Yesterday I had made the kids pancakes, so I had a few for myself:

Clean, Healthy Pancake Mix!

That turned into these:

Topped with natural peanut butter and some of this:

Love my Honey Bear!

Yum!  So much for not using any natural sweeteners besides Stevia this week, although today is the start of the new week, anyway. 😉

Yesterday I was plain ole’ tuckered out and took a 2.5 hour nap in the middle of the afternoon.  I never do that, because I always feel awful for the rest of the day so it was definitely called for.  I’m explaining all of this because there weren’t as many meals as there should have been.  (Clean eating requires 6/day).

I made myself a mishmash for lunch, because food is so dang expensive and I wanted to eat up all of the leftovers in the fridge:

It doesn’t look like much, but I finally got my veggies in!  Acorn squash, roasted carrots, chicken sausage, Quinoa pasta with homemade arugula pesto.

Let’s talk about the pasta.  I bought it at Publix (the local grocery store), and it was kind of pricey (I think around $5!!!) but wanted to try it.  The box looked like this:

The nutrition is phenomenal, because Quinoa is a complete grain, there was some protein listed (always a plus for clean eaters):

I ate 1 ounce and it was a good amount for a side dish.  I have to mention, it tastes like regular, nutrient deficient semolina pasta!  Fantastic tasting, good texture. gluten free.  I highly recommend it if you are looking for alternatives to whole wheat, whole grain and semolina.  A+ 🙂

I was feeling kind of icky from being tired and coconut water always gives a good pick-me-up:

But that couldn’t even compete yesterday.  I like to drink it when I’m exercising…it gives lots of natural energy and it’s clean!

Like I mentioned before, I missed some meals so the next meal I ate was dinner.  Dinner consisted of pan fried (a little bit of olive oil) pork chops, green beans, and brown rice with real parmesan cheese:

Completely clean.

Yesterday I attempted to make bread again, and Jeremy helped (probably because he got tired of seeing the bricks loaves of bread that I was baking) actually, it probably had more to do about my complaining about the bricks loaves of bread.  So let’s do a picture comparison!  What I made a couple of days ago:

What Jeremy made yesterday:

Yep. Big difference.  So good, too. I dove right into it and had 2 gigantic slices that looked like this:

Sprinkled with some really awesome Vietnamese cinnamon that I got online.  I’m going to keep making my own bread.  I am totally disgusted with the chemicals that companies put in loaves of bread at the store.  They are awful and you can find them under the unsuspecting chemicals tab.

Have a great Sunday sunshines 🙂

Jessica xoxo

2 Responses to “3 Miler” Sunday and Quinoa pasta review

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gil Bonoan, rssBetterSleep. rssBetterSleep said: 4vrTrd> http://bit.ly/67MY4W “3 Miler” Sunday and Quinoa pasta review « Fit & Clean… […]

  2. All of your food looks fantastic! I love quinoa pasta!! And lately I’m huuuuuge coconut water fan! 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

Leave a Reply

