School’s out early Thursday

Ugh. There’s a half day today because we “might” have a storm. πŸ˜‰ Really? That’s craziness!

I was starving this morning. I’m pretty sure eating peanut butter out of the jar late at night does that to me! I’m pretty sure that I need to increase my protein intake, so I decided to have a huge protein breaky.

Salmon is not just for lunch and dinner, folks! It is a great source of protein as well as healthy fats!

That’s 4 oz. of smoked salmon, 2 slices of homemade wheat bread, garlic hummus, and blackberries. It was awesome. It was so great I ended up going back for 2 more slices of bread (they’re small, so don’t think I’m piggin out ;))

So let’s discuss yesterday. I never got to the gym in the morning like I had planned, because I had so many things to catch up on from the holidays…just stuff that didn’t get done like the banking, and bills, and blogging πŸ™‚ I headed to the gym at 5:30 with all of my kids in tow to run my 3 miler. By the grace of God, I will finish that 1/2 marathon under 2 hours. Because I haven’t run in a year, my cardio is just not “there”. Yet. Running cardio is so much different than interval cardio. I finished in 1/2 an hour and slid into the end of BodyCombat for a rockin’ ab workout and some chest and tri’s.

416 calories @ 28% fat in 50:43. Fantastic!

Yesterday’s eats were very interesting and yummy. Trust me!

I ate lunch at the local Mexican watering hole:

Fish taco’s, and several sides…I only ate the fish, with corn tortillas and avocados. Darn food sensitivities, no tomatoes 😦

To find the energy to hit the gym at 5:30 for running and workouts I made a new protein shake.Β  (Recipe in the recipe section…it was that good.)

So instead of the “typical blender picture” I took a picture of what was inside. I am calling it Power Protein Latte Shake. Peanut butter, oatmeal, protein powder, milk, coffee, unsweetened cocoa, stevia. ahhhhh.

After the gym there was some more of the hungries happening:

Smoked muscles, purple sweet potato, broccoli with balsamic vinegar and my homemade bread.Β  The white “sauce” on the sweet potato is actually plain yogurt and garlic salt mixed together.Β  It just worked…one of those things πŸ™‚

So as I worked all day yesterday morning, this morning I have to head out to get crickets for the lizards, bones for the dog, and beer and wine (in the event that we get snowed in, LOL!) My desk just keeps spreading out over the dining room table:

And I think I forgot to show y’all a picture of the brick bread I baked yesterday:

Have a wonderful, snowy day! πŸ™‚

One Response to School’s out early Thursday

  1. april says:

    I’ve never had smoked salmon but I eat blackened or seasoned salmon every sunday.. it’s a tradition in our family!

Leave a Reply

