The day after Festivus ;)

Good Morning! Today is going to be a great day, I can feel it. By some miracle my kids are going to be good, I’m going to get everything done that needs to be done, (we’re actually going to visit some friends today!) and maybe go to Whole Foods to stock up on healthy eats for next week. Now how much of that do you think will actually happen? We shall see πŸ˜‰

This mornings breakfast consisted of a version of Jamaican Oatmeal. I was starving from eating a bunch of junky foods (unclean for sure 😦 the day before).Β  I am still pretending that I’m on vacation (and no, I’m not delusional, promise!) I just want to go away somewhere warm. Peaches, strawberries, pineapple, unsweetened coconut, and raw cashews. So good!

Kind of looked like a bowl of fruit with some oatmeal added to it, not the other way around πŸ˜‰

So the day after Christmas. Let us get to it:

I hit the gym with my BFF Colleen. It was a fantastic workout, and then Colleen showed me some of the weight workouts that she does with her trainer for shoulders and biceps. Fun! At any rate, I burned 374 calories at 25% fat in 43:39, in case anyone was wondering. That was just for my cardio class…I’ve been all about the cardio lately, and gotten away from strength training.

Just a side note, strength training is very important because when you build muscle, it burns fat. (Plus, it gives you a rockin’ body) πŸ™‚ You will burn many more calories even after you are done working out!Β  Many times girls are afraid that if they strength train they will “bulk up” but this is a myth. We, as women, are not able to do that. Muscle takes up less room then fat, so you will be I smaller. If you have any questions about strength training and how important it is, please feel free to email me at fitclean@gmail.com.

My second meal of the day was a power protein shake. I have been craving chocolate, so that made up the shake: chocolate protein powder, unsweetened chocolate powder, agave nectar, maca, natural peanut butter, and 1/2 a banana:

Not an exciting picture, sorry! Power Protein Shake

Look for the recipe under the “recipe” tab πŸ™‚

Then, after an uneventful (whoo-hoo!) trip to Wally World with my Mom for a couple of hours with all of the crazies I came home and ate this:

Give you 3 guesses what that is, LOL! Yep, it’s a lovely salad with feta and Goddess dressing, my Mexican shredded chicken, Sabra Hummus, and Mary’s Gone Crackers. Yummy!

A bit later after hanging out with the family we started to attack the leftovers in the fridge, but I had enough of some of them, and didn’t cook a veggie (I’ve been on a carrot kick lately) so I had Honeybaked Ham and Wheat Berry Salad, the some more ham and a small piece of Cheesy Beer Bread (not great)…

The Leftover Festivus Meal

I know it doesn’t look like a lot, but those Christmas dishes that I got from Kohls are HUGE!!! They’re made for giants, LOL!

Then there was this: (raw coconut balls) not bad for me:

And this: (at least this was organic, but there was sucanat in it)…

And this:

Ummm, what happened???? Too many cookies, for sure! That’s ok, to indulge every once in a while (as long as you don’t get nauseous like me ;).)

Some exciting news for me: I think that me and my GFΒ  have come up with a name for our book that we are co-writing! I am very excited. We are trying it out to see if it “sticks”. πŸ™‚Β  Also, I printed out the schedule for my 1/2 marathon on March 21st. My cross training days correspond with the days that I go to the gym so I am totally stoked that I don’t have to give up my classes! I will, however cut back if I begin to feel like I am over-training. Can’t wait to start…MONDAY!

Have a great day my friends, 2009 is almost to the end. I am really looking forward to 2010.

Jessica

Leave a Reply

