Sweet, Salty, Savory

Good evening!  Hope your hump day has been great!

I want to start by catching you all up on a decision that I’ve made after careful deliberation these last few days.  I’ve decided to put Insanity on the back burner because of a couple of reasons:

1.  I can’t seem to fit it in with all of my gym classes right now, and

2.  I’m decreasing my cardio and increasing my weight lifting (and my weights!)  for the next few weeks.

I have, however, decided to bring it with me while I am on vacation in a few weeks, along with my portable DVD player. ;)  I know how it is at resorts and they don’t offer any classes or anything like that beyond maybe some machines and some free weights.

SO, with that being said, I took a BodyAttack Express class (45 minutes) and a BodyPump class (60 minutes) and burned 723 calories!

I have been an eating machine lately, because I’ve been taking classes back to back, and burning anywhere from 700 to 900 calories!  And just to mention, 1200 calories isn’t sustainable when you burn so many calories. So I’ve increased my calories.

Parfait

That was yesterday’s lunch.  A whole peach, Greek yogurt (with 2 packets of Truvia), and granola that was a little “well done”.  It was awesome and totally filling for lunch.

I have increased the amount of water that I’ve been drinking lately, and it works out to be about 90 ounces a day (when I’m on my game!)  Alas, I’m kind of getting sick of water.  I know how good it is for you, and it flushes the toxins and salts out of our system, and our bodies are approximately 70% water.  It is sooo important.

I can’t drink diet soda’s anymore, because they have that “chemical” taste to me now.  Sometimes I make decaf tea (green or otherwise) and chill and drink that.  Today I wanted lemonade, but without the chemicals and/or sugar and artificial unclean whatnots they put in everything:

Healthy Lemonade

In the frozen section in the grocery store, they sell a lemon juice that doesn’t have any preservatives in it (unlike RealLemon, which does!!!)  So I took purified water, ice, lemon juice and Truvia and mixed it all together.  Well, there you go! Healthy Lemonade!!!

Something else I’ve been craving:

Yuuuummmmmm!!!

Yes, it’s a sweet potato.  I tend to eat a lot of them because they are really good for you. They have some great nutrients such as vitamin C, potassium, fiber and carotenoids.  It becomes scrumptious when you put a tablespoon of Cinnamon Peanut Butter on it.  Mine just happens to be Market Pantry (from Target).  OMG.  I think I’ve had them at dinner 3 days in a row!!

For example, with green beans and *fresh* sausage (from out local butcher) and:

with cauliflower and chicken.

Today I had a really great lunch, too! Lately I seem to be on an exciting cooking adventure, LOL!

I started with these burgers:

Fried it up in a pan, and added some balsamic vinegar to it which turned into a nice coating on the burger:

Are you wondering what is on the chicken burger?

Here’s a close up:

Yes, more peaches. (I live in Georgia, after all! :)) On top of a whole ounce of goat cheese!  It was sweet, salty, savory from the vinegar…perfect.

Along with cottage cheese and some more peaches, with a drizzle of balsamic!

My lettuce has been growing:

It’s actually grown quite a bit since my last picture! :)

Tomorrow I’m going to be making something with these.  Can you guess what they are??

Question:  Are you a cardio junky, or more into weight lifting?  Do you find it hard to tone back the cardio?

12 Responses to Sweet, Salty, Savory

  1. I’ve been craving peaches like crazy, but they just aren’t as good in Germany as back in the states!
    P.S. This is my first time reading your blog, and I really like the “clean eating” approach. That is what I strive for, although I know I fall short at times.

  2. Katie says:

    I love your simple dinners. Veg, meat, starch. Perfect.

    I’ve been drinking those healthy lemonades too, because I’ve been hating plain boring water.

    Did you really only eat 1200 calories?!?! That’s insane. I see nutritionists recommend that, and I can’t even imagine it. I have the metabolism of a hummingbird though, so that would never hold me. :D

    • I did only eat 1200 calories…just to see what would happen…and I found out:

      1. I was really tired and cranky
      2. I craved carbs
      3. I did not lose any weight in the 2 weeks that I did it.

      So overall, not a good thing to do for me!

  3. I also can’t STAND the taste of fake sweeteners anymore! I am also loving the healthy lemonade these days! Sometimes I throw a few frozen strawberries in or make a lime-ade (water, splash lime juice, stevia). So refreshing!!!!

  4. edenseats says:

    Your lettuce looks so cute! like little babies! I’ve never even heard of nutritionists recommending 1200 calories! thats insane, your metabolism slows down! I had an eating disorder for a lot of my life, but I ate more than that (I also had some serious exercise issues which left me emaciated, but I wont get into that). That being said, I USED to be a cardio junkie like no other. now I cant stand being on a machine for so long! i get bored and it pisses me off. I like mixing it up, maybe a half out HIIT cardio and weights, and yoga, of course!

    • I am a fan of Jillian Michaels on FaceBook, and she states that the contestants on The Biggest Loser only eat 1200 calories a day. I can’t even begin to comprehend, because they also work out 6 hours a day! CRAZINESS!!!

  5. I am a cardio junkie, because I enjoy it! I’m thinking of getting into weight lifting more, just to see what my body can look like! I’ve never had peaches on a burger, but it looks good!

    I love your little lettuce plants. How cute!

    I will def add you to my blog roll :)

  6. Nicole says:

    Aww you grow your own lettuce! Are those the herb growers that used to be on TV? I’ve always wondered if those fellas worked well or not. Your greens look so cute, yay for being able to eat them soon!

    LOVE sweet potato. It’s the best invention ever. You ought to try purple potatoes, they’re silly and turn blue when you cook ‘em :)

    • I love my Aerogarden! I think I might get another one for herbs…I grown green beans, lettuce and herbs in mine, I’ve had it for years! It’s great in the winter :) I’ve tried the purple potatoes and found I like the orange ones better! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

