…and success!!!

Hey y’all!

I have had an eventful couple of days!  Lots of pictures to show you! :)  I’ve been cooking up a storm.  Meals, desserts, bruncheon coffee cake.   Not as many kitchen calamaties as the week before.  No kitchen calamaties usually = success!

Before I forget, a big shout-out to Lauren and Melissa who both had birthdays this weekend.  Happy Birthday!

Today was also my kids first day back to school.  Yes, it’s only August 2nd.  BUT, we get a week off every other month and 2 at Christmas.  It works out really well.  (They got out of school May 26th this year).

3 Musketeers!

I am so proud of all of them.  They were all so excited! I was also excited…after they got on the bus, I went into the house and there was….nothing….no noise! Aaaaahhhhh!

My little sweetie!

 So my girlfriend Melissa was having a poolside bruncheon and I needed something to make to take over, so I decided on a blueberry coffee cake.  It was clean in the sense that it didn’t have any preservatives (obviously, since it was homemade) but there was sugar in it.  (I don’t think that baked goods turn out well without sugar.  I  try to decrease sugars and oils and that works well sometimes! :)  I stuck to the original recipe which you can get here.

I got several compliments on it.  It was sweet from the blueberries but not that sickening-sweet that a lot of baked goods are. So, SUCCESS! :D

I also made zucchini bread, and this was a recipe where I cut down the oil from 1/3 cup to 2 Tb. and it was still really good!

Success! :)

There was also some granola thanks to Mama Pea’s Multigrain Pomegranate Granilla Recipe.

I didn’t have pomegranate seeds, so I substituted raisins.  I baked it, but forgot that my oven runs kind of hot, so it turned out just-this-side-of-burned. Not terrible, and still edible! Not an entire success.

Try, try again…

Perfection! Success. :) Cranberries instead of raisins. 

In other news:  I started Insanity today!!!  I took the fit test, and scored what I considered “average” for someone who works out on a daily basis.  It’s different for me, I’m not used to boot camp style exercising, so this should be a good switch up.  Looking to start day 1 tomorrow!!! Uh, after the gym, LOL!

I wanted to share this picture with you…it’s my favorite clean eating “go-to” meal…shredded Mexican chicken.

spices.

How easy is that? Add low-sodium broth and boneless, skinless chicken.  Boil.  That’s it!!  The spices are ancho chili powder (a la Bobby Flay ;)) smoked ground cumin, mexican oregano, garlic, bay leaves and onion.  You can use it in soups, burrito’s, taco’s, nacho’s, salads…add homemade salsa and guacamole and you’ve got a great meal! :D

3 Responses to …and success!!!

  1. kbwood says:

    oh my gosh i LOVE that pic of you and your girl!! SOO sweet! your kids are adorable!

  2. I hope you enjoy Insanity! I’ve heard such great things about that program. I’ve been doing TurboFire for the past 3 weeks and I LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

