Happy!

Hey Y’all!  Today was a long day of fun and the sun for me.  I started my morning getting the boys up and fed, then Sophia.  Off we drove to camp to drop off the boys, then on to the gym where I dropped Sophia in the daycare and headed to BodyStep class.

Ooooh.  It was a fantastic class!  I love that feeling of having a great class, it really sets the tone for the rest of the day!  I wish I had my Polar watch so I could tell you how many calories I burned, because I busted it out. Unfortunately, we are on round 2 with my sending that thing back to Polar under the 2 year warranty.  The first round they replaced the strap and batteries.  Maybe they’ll replace the entire thing this round.  UGH!  (sigh of frustration) I like to at least have an idea.  If I were to guess, (based on previous numbers when I work out really hard) I would say 500-600 calories.  I hope I get it back soon!!!

I am excited because in 2 days I will be headed back to here with the family for a much needed and well deserved vacation:

THE BEACH :D

This picture was taken last year in Pensacola, FL.  We usually go to Sandestin, FL but last year we couldn’t get reservations at the hotel we like to stay at, and that’s how we ended up about 60 miles east.  This year we are back in Sandestin!  And I would like to mention, there is no oil there yet. Hopefully there won’t be, either.  I was chatting with some friends today (we’re all going to the beach on the Gulf at the same time…just different areas) and they were saying how the marine life has been pushed toward shore because of the oil.  Although that would be cool to see, I don’t think I’d be very happy swimming with sharks, lol!

Oh, I can’t wait!!

The other thing that I am happy about is that I got to spend some time with my girlfriends! It was maybe the second time since I’ve been home from NY.  It was a very nice, very fun and relaxing day! :D

My eats have been mostly clean and I’ve been trying some new things so…some new things were introduced to my diet. Such as a new protein powder:

Anything that says “chocolate peanut-butter” and I’m all over that!  I believe it’s 200 calories for one serving and I have been drinking it for recovery/lunch after the gym.  I’m hungry a couple of hours later, so generally I need a snack:

Cottage Cheese

Yes, I am still eating my Friendship Low Sodium Cottage Cheese.  I like to give it some flavor, so in the picture I added my friend Lauren’s homemade strawberry rhubarb preserves.  YUMMY!! :)  I want to try to make the cottage cheese into a dip in the Vitamix, because I like to dip things in it, like peppers and Mary’s Gone Crackers.  Maybe when I get back from the beach.  (The Vitamix will not be going to the beach with me, but I have a portable bullet blender that will be, as well as the protein powder).  I am working on increasing my protein and decreasing my carbs.  (Yes, still working on it…it’s not as simple as you would think!  I’m a work in progress ;))

cottage cheese and all fruit

There were of course, some eggs for breakfast.  I have gravitated from the egg whites (I ran out of mushrooms!) and have been eating 2 whole eggs for breakfast with a carb.  For whatever reason, I’ve found that I wasn’t eating enough before my classes and was feeling icky (yes, the technical term) and I would get ravenous during class, so I’m attempting to increase the amount I eat at breakfast resulting in the following:

eggs and enough carbs

It doesn’t work out real well when you’re trying to eat a Larabar in-between tracks of a step class, lol!  That’s how hungry I was getting!  I was also getting tired fairly easily.  I think I cut out too many carbs.  Like I said, a work in progress!

This eggs and carb picture was apparently not enough because this is what I ate before the class that I was starving in:

eggs and not enough carbs.

and these eggs:

eggs and....not enough carbs!

While I am gone here:

The Ocean!

We eat in the hotel restaurant at the Hilton, and they make eggs any way you want.  Last summer, I was into the oatmeal (can’t do oatmeal anymore in the morning, too many carbs) so I will be getting egg-white omelets with some whole wheat carb of some sort.  I’ve got it all planned out in my head, but sometimes that doesn’t always work out, so we shall see.

and yes, I can blog from the beach on my iphone :)

I made some broccoli salad this week that showed up on a blog on my FaceBook News Feed, and it was ok, but boy, not the same as the sugar-laden one that I ate as a kid:

The broccoli was made with non-fat yogurt, balsamic vinegar, almonds, and raisins.  It wasn’t fantastic, but edible.  There was also a breaded pork chop and potatoes with onions. (which were leftover from this meal):

This was a lean ground beef hamburger, with potatoes, onions and carrots on top baked in a foil packet in the oven.  I had some organic ketchup that I ate it with.

I did some research on sugar substitutes and while I like Truvia the best out of all of them, I decided to try something new:

Sugar Substitute

Erythritol.  Erythritol is a natural sugar alcohol.  Sugar alcohols occur naturally in plants.  Other ones that you may be familiar with are Sorbitol and Xylitol.  It also does not affect blood sugar levels and is a zero on the glycemic index.  Just some food for thought :)  As with any sugar substitute, the taste is a bit different then actual sugar, and takes some getting used to.  Erythritol is only 70% as sweet as sugar, FYI.

I’ve been snacking at night which I want to get away from, but it’s clean at least.  It’s usually a slice of Ezekial Bread with coconut butter or apples with nut butter:

lots of nut butter :)

I want to try protein shakes at night and limit the carbs and fats.  We’ll see how that goes, as well.

Hope you all have a great weekend. My next post will be from the beach! :D

Jessica


2 Responses to Happy!

  1. april says:

    How do you like the syntha? I’ve tried the BSN and it’s really good! And I’m loving all those eggs.. I’ve been in an egg mood too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

