Rainy days and Survivor Thursday!

Hello all! It has been raining here in the ATL for 48 hours straight, I swear! We all feel like drowned rats.  The thing was, 2 days ago, it was 70 degrees. Now it’s 53 degrees and rainy! Ugh.

Even so, those are the best days to go to the gym, because you’re under fluorescent lights and they always make me feel more sunny :)  Plus you can get an endorphin high that will last all day, and that’s always a good feeling.  There you go, two reasons not to miss going to the gym on a rainy day!

To come soon: shopping lists of “cool and useful ingredients” requested by my friend Lauren! :) I think that’s going to be my weekend project! :D

Today I knew I was going to BodyStep this morning and then strength training, so I got my carbs and protein on:

Oatmeal with vanilla protein powder, pineapple and a few cashews (less then 1/4 cup).  Tasted great, as usual! No sweetener…didn’t need it, natural or otherwise!

SO let’s talk about the workout, since that is what happened next.  Last night I went to BodyCombat and got out all the aggression from life this week.  I did a good job getting it out, too, because this morning I was SORE.  My back was sore from descending elbows and muay thai, and my legs were sore from lunges and eskivas. (yes, I’m not sure how to spell that, AT ALL). So I went to BodyStep this morning, where I swear we did the hardest leg track ever.  Not to mention, my legs already felt like lead, LOL!  Worth it, though, although I am still really sore still.  And tomorrow is leg/abs day! It’s never ending this week!!

I did a killer strength workout too (back, biceps and abs)

  • barbell bent over row 30 lbs. 3 sets of 12
  • machine lateral pull-down 55 lbs. 3 sets of 10
  • row rear deltoid 40 lbs. 3 sets of 10
  • 21’s 15 lbs. 1 set
  • open ups 15 lbs. 36 reps
  • hammer curl 15 lbs. 3 sets of 8
  • ab crunch machine 10 lbs 5 sets of 10
  • incline reverse crunch 40 reps

I got home and was absolutely staaarving!  I’m trying to eat more protein, so I made this:

1 link of chicken sausage that I bought at Trader Joe’s yesterday, along with 4 egg whites, leftover roasted broccoli, and salsa:

I think I increased my protein intake in this one meal!

There was some puppy love while I was trying to work:

It’s really hard to work when there’s a Biscuit lying upside down on my lap. :)

I took the boys to karate, met with my GF Colleen for coffee and to catch up, and came home to Jeremy cooking dinner:

Grilled beef kebobs,  half of a massive sweet potato with cinnamon, and corn. YUMMY!!

I use this cinnamon that I ordered online…it’s clean and tastes fantastic…it’s sweet, so no need for sugar at all!

I watched two episodes of Survivor…I missed last week, but it was DVR’d. :)  I got hungry about half way through the first episode and used my 3 favorite clean ingredients to make some dessert:

So how good does my dessert look?  I put the above fruit and coconut butter on TJ’s sprouted grain bread:

and of course, the close-up pics look even better!

The above is blueberry, and below:

peach! The perfect healthy dessert.  Decadent.  I am going to try to make my own coconut butter this weekend…can’t wait to see how it turns out!  Pictures to come.

Tomorrow is legs and abs day, and a lunch out with my girlfriends!  Hopefully my legs will hold up…and it’s always fun to see my girls! :)

Have a fantastic Friday…the weekend is finally here!!

Jessica xoxo

7 Responses to Rainy days and Survivor Thursday!

  1. Lauren says:

    Yay! Can’t wait for the list! Seriously! :)

  2. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  3. april says:

    That dessert does sound amazing!!

    What is muy thai? i’ve been hearing about it a lot lately!

    And woohoo for strength training! Don’t you love being sore? LOL!

  4. kbwood says:

    WOW what a great dessert!! that sounds aweesome!

  5. RC says:

    Jessica,

    I’ve cooked your Oven “Fried” Baked Chicken twice now.. the one with bread crumbs and real shredded parm…. IT’S AWESOME!! My partner and I love it! I used Panko whole wheat bread crumbs and it was extra crispy. Thanks again for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

