Real World Eating Saturday!

This morning, I woke up to a chilly morning, but the sun was out and shining!  I love when I wake up and the sun is shining.  It’s a new day!

I wandered downstairs and made Dad and Mom some breaky and then I made some for myself.  They had eggs over-easy with toast, and I made myself 1 whole egg with 2 egg whites and rye bread toast with my homemade cinnamon vanilla pecan granules butter.  My eggs didn’t fare as well as theirs, they look a little over-cooked (and they were!)  They still tasted great, though:

My eggs had orange peppers and mushrooms also, in case you were wondering what was in that mess on my plate, LOL!

Today was another day of errands, here and there…and when I got home I was kind of hungry for lunch so I made a small salad, with orange peppers and carrots, hummus and guacamole (all of this is clean, by the way) and Mary’s Crack:

I also took a close-up of the yumminess:

OK, the guacamole looks a little…strange.  It’s Wholly Guacamole that you buy at the grocery in the produce department.  I cut off the tiniest corner of the package because I hate when it turns brown. And that’s why it looks so…funny.

Then I decided to go on a run.  Let me tell you, it was 9 (NINE, in case you didn’t get that) degrees.  I had the same outfit I had on the other day when it was 15 degrees out.  I think it was windier today, or maybe because I hadn’t eaten any carbs since breakfast (my own fault, I know better)! this run was not a stellar run.  I kind of felt sick the entire time, and I was really cold.  I had to cut my run short by 2 miles.  I’m glad I did, too, because the tops of my legs and my stomach were bright red and cold when I got inside.  (Obviously, I had them completely covered!)  On the upside, I completed 4 miles, and faster then the previous 4 miles I did a few days ago.  YAY! :)

I had bought some trail sneakers in the men’s shoe section at Target:

They look very large. I’m not even sure what size they are in women’s, but they’re a 7 in men’s.  I think I have a blister on my pinky toe, but I’ll get over it.  I only slipped once, and that was on black ice.  The roads were covered in slush and snow and they got me through! A++ :)

Miss my normal running sneakers, which happen to be Saucony’s (and pretty pink, too…I can be such a girl sometimes, LOL).  No, I did not buy them because they were pink, I was fitted in an actual running store where they watch you run.  Then they give suggestions on sneakers that will match your feet and how you run.  I’ve been fairly pleased with my “new” (I’ll need new ones before the 1/2 marathon at the end of March) sneakers.

I warmed up after my run with a leftover latte from you know where:

The I had a huge treat for dinner.  Subs (or hoagies, depending on where you are from). ;)  Homemade.  Mostly clean.  Turkey (real), salami, fresh roll, provolone cheese, veggies, guacamole, salami and balsamic vinegar:

Fit for a Princess :)

A picture of the provolone cheese ingredients:

To make up for the salami, I ate a huge bowl of broccoli with peccorino-romano cheese and lime juice:

A picture of the cheese container ingredients:

Clean!

The reason I took pictures of the cheese ingredients is that a lot of people think just because you are eating clean, you need to cut out dairy and cheese.  Not so!  Low-fat cheeses can be used in moderation.  Just so you know, rennet is an enzyme that helps curdle the milk when making cheese. ;)

I have had another long day, so I am going to relax with TV and go to sleep.  Have a wonderful night, and stay warm.

Jessica xoxo

One Response to Real World Eating Saturday!

  1. april says:

    I’m totally with you on the cheese! I try to only buy dairy with minimal ingredients.. that’s why I like Daisy cottage cheese! There’s only 3 or 4 ingredients I believe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

