Tasty Tuesday :)

I really need to figure out some new things for breaky. Oatmeal and Ezekial Bread with peanut butter are getting old šŸ˜‰ Time to switch things up! Today’s breakfast is a homemade egg muffin. Egg whites, goat cheese, Ezekial muffins. Yep, that’s switching it up, for sure!!! It was really good!

I had some severe stomach issues which I attributed to stress. At any rate, I went to Whole Foods yesterday and stocked up on some necessary items: Mary’s Crack, cashew butter, smoked salmon, smoked muscles, goat cheese, Annie’s Goddess Dressing, arugula (I’m going to make pesto!), carrots, butter lettuce, and 50 other things that equated to $100. šŸ˜‰

I was finally able to find these “granola bars” at Whole Foods that I was looking for all over…they’re called Cliff Nectar Bars, and were $1.89 each.Ā  They have everything I can eat…the flavor was Lemon, Vanilla, Cashew. It only had 5 ingredients:

1.Ā  Organic Dates

2.Ā  Organic Cashews

3.Ā  Organic Goji Berries

4.Ā  Organic Lemon Juice Concentrate

5.Ā  Organic Vanilla

They were pretty good! They had nothing bad in them, and were only 160 calories. I ate one in the car on the way home…

And the nutrition on the back if you can see it…

I picked up some lunch, too. For lunch I had a Sesame Kale Salad:

In this was kale, carrots, red peppers, sesame seeds, sesame oil, ginger, garlic, sea salt, honey, brown rice vinegar, sherry, tamari and canola oil.Ā  It was just as fresh tasting as it looked, and so good. I craved veggies again today. It is the strangest thing. I swear, that has never happened before. And certainly not 2 days in a row!!! I think I’ve come around some sort of bend with my diet. (Diet being the way I eat, not one that restricts calories. I want to make that clear).

There was also Mary’s Crack and the final end of the Sabra Hummus, and some water! (yes, I take my own advice, LOL!)

Before I hit the gym I made a modified version of one of Tosca Reno’s protein shakes. So it had water, vanilla protein powder, oatmeal, peanut butter, agave, cinnamon. It’s a modified version of Tosca’s because she uses milk and I didn’t want the milk today.

I went to the gym for my Monday night Cardio Core class. We did a ton of shoulder work today, so I expect to be sore in the morning. I burned 335 calories @ 25% fat in 44:07. Oh, and I need to perfect my “burpee”. Those are hard! If you don’t know what a burpee is, click on the link. We do the whole thing with the variation, as many times as we can. I have problems getting up off of the floor, let alone jumping! šŸ˜‰ Try it at home for a good all-over body workout!!

So after the gym I came home and made some dinner. Yes, I am still eating leftovers! So nothing new here, just my sudden veggie addiction:

SO, in case you are just joining me in blogger land, this is broiled carrots and eggplant, a salad with raisins and natural dressing, and shredded mexican taco’s on blue organic corn taco shells with farmer cheese and green chili’s. YUMMY! I was starving, too, after doing fifty million burpees :).

Dessert was some chocolate coconut snowballs that migrated into little muffin cups because I just can’t seem to get them round:

Hope your Tuesday is as tasty as mine!

4 Responses to Tasty Tuesday :)

  1. Jennifer Walsh says:

    That “burpee”-OMG- I would not ever walk again!!! I had to laugh though, when I clicked on the link, the ad was for LIFESAVERS GUMMIES!

  2. kellyjlose20 says:

    hi jessica – that new breakfast looks good! 2 questions for you – so is goat cheese more healthy and better for you than feta? do you know? i refuse to eat FF Feta, and can’t find the light – so when I use it in my salads, I just use a little. was curious.

    also, do you like the annie’s goddess salad dresing brands you use? are they low in sugar or FF? I had a GREAT one at Whole foods restaurant – made by cindy’s kitchens – but can’t seem to find it and whole foods doesn’t sell it to the public! thanks for your help. Kelly

  3. Hey Kelly!

    I don’t know if the goat cheese is better for you then the feta because I ate all of my feta to compare it to šŸ˜‰ But the brand is chevre, and it has 6 grams of fat and 70 calories for 1 oz. and a little goes a long way! I don’t think it’s any healthier then feta, but feta and goat cheese on a whole are healthier then buying any of the bagged shredded or (ack!) American Cheese. No additives, normally. The goat cheese ingredients are pasteurized goat milk, cheese culture, vegetal rennet and salt.

    Annie’s Naturals Goddess Dressing is not fat free. It has less then 1 gram of sugar, and is 130 calories and 13g of fat for 2 Tb. (Normally I eat just one). This is the only one I’ve tried, and I’m hooked. šŸ™‚

  4. Biochemista says:

    Ooooooo! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Whole Foods’ Sushi!!! Have you had the multi-grain rice too? It’s perdy fantastic!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

Leave a comment